VB preview out today

by Cindy Luis on August 27, 2014

Our annual preview is out today (Wednesday) for those interested.
Not the magazine format we had several years ago, which I really enjoy doing.
But still fun to put together.
Thanks to our amazing photographer Jamm Aquino, graphics by Martha Hernandez and designed by Mike Rovner.

hope you enjoy it.

{ 35 comments… read them below or add one }

1 tako August 27, 2014 at 7:32 am

Great preview and exciting start to the season. Even offered pre-order for Book written by Ann Miller. -thanks

2 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 8:01 am

1. thanks. the online edition isn’t that easy to navigate. there are more stories but you have to know to scroll down and go to the ‘related stories.’

3 Geno Tamayo August 27, 2014 at 8:40 am

Will the preview be at the SSC like past years?

4 Cubicle1126 August 27, 2014 at 9:44 am

cindy — good stuff. especially liked the article on shoji.

5 mei mei August 27, 2014 at 9:55 am

thanks Cindy, certainly did enjoy it… great Pics!!

6 carl82 August 27, 2014 at 10:18 am

Where can I see the preview?

7 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 10:28 am

It’s online at staradvertiser.com

8 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 10:30 am

3. Gene, I do not know if it will be. I will ask. That is a marketing/circulation thing. way above my pay grade.
don’t remember the last time we did that.

9 carl82 August 27, 2014 at 10:39 am

Thanks Cindy! So i assume I have to be a subscriber in order to have full access…(oh Lord, I’m so tempted to sign up!)

10 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 11:07 am

sorry, but yes, you do have to be a subscriber. Do you live on Oahu?

11 bosnoda August 27, 2014 at 11:35 am

I found it on the Star Advertiser Print Replica, couldn’t find it on the regular pages.

12 carl8082 August 27, 2014 at 11:48 am

10. I live in the Bay Area. Anyway, I may just go for the trial pass for 14 days. Annual subscription may not be beneficial for me since I only follow the Wahine and coverage for them is only, well technically, from July to December.

13 volleyballfan August 27, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Cindy, I have one complaint concerning the Preview, it has nothing to do with you, but whoever handles the printing. The portion concerning the Middles, the sentences start on one page and finishes on another page. It is a little troubling to follow. Have to decipher which half sentence goes with which other half sentence. I do not know if it is the same on the Print Replica, or not. Otherwise, Great Job Cindy, on the Preview.

14 carl82 August 27, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Okay I just subscribed but I can’t find the preview :(

15 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 12:29 pm

12. odd, not how I had it when they gave me the ‘proofs.’
Very sorry about that.

16 KaimukiLady August 27, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I ended up buying the regular newspaper, as it was too difficult to navigate and read. When you have the regular print newspaper the whole thing makes sense, as the whole layout can be taped, outside page to the inside page. It will run into one long page. If you cut the bottom ads, you can have a nice poster with the Wahine schedule to hang on your wall for the season. Mahalo, Cindy.

17 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Carl go to http://www.staradvertiser.com/sports/

the two main stories at the top of the page are volleyball

doesn’t look like they have the breakdown by positions. I’ll try to find the link

18 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

15. thank you for taking the trouble to buy a paper when you already subscribe.
Agree with the problems and I apologize. so much better when it was in magazine format.

it was designed as a poster. enjoy

19 carl82 August 27, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Thanks Cindy!

20 volleyballfan August 27, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Cindy, not really a big problem, but just wanted to let you know.

On a different topic. This looks like the best group of L/DS the Wahine have on their roster in a very long time. Thinking both Anderson and Guinasso can also contribute this year. When was the last time the Wahine had 4 L/DS that have the ability to contribute in a given year, with not much drop off.

21 Kazu August 27, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Maybe i’ll just go buy the paper. That way I get to keep it with the rest of my Wahine collections.

22 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 2:23 pm

20. I think it is a problem. appreciate the feedback otherwise we wouldn’t know there was a problem.

23 islandman August 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

This is my annual fun puzzle, to identify by matching up the numbers with the players pictures, though i know some, already. This year the numbers were easy to find on the side of one of the pages, with the players names.

24 todde August 27, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Cubicle No More… Posted this article on VT page 2. Looks good you can read everything just need to enlarge it then left click it one more time

25 todde August 27, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Well maybe not. You need go to “view”above on your computer and keep zooming “in” until you can read it.

26 Z August 27, 2014 at 4:03 pm

In print preview it says that Mendoza is an assistant team caption? What is that?

27 warriorfan August 27, 2014 at 4:13 pm

26. Mendoza is assistant team captain

28 volleyballfan August 27, 2014 at 6:13 pm

26. Excuse WF, he has a very difficult time reading and comprehending. An assistant team captain, assist the Team Captain (Ad0pho), much like the assistant coaches assist Dave Shoji. There are 2 assistant team captains (Sarah Mendoza, and Tai Manu-Olevao).

29 Tomas August 27, 2014 at 6:19 pm

What Preview?

30 Cindy Luis August 27, 2014 at 6:27 pm

27. oops, we added that in late and obviously was misspelled.

31 vbfan4life August 27, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Hey Cindy,

I too live in the Bay Area now but have an online account and can’t seem to find the breakdown on players by positions that others are mentioning. Online I only saw the article about Shoji’s continued success, the local lineup, and the local girls playing D1. Am I missing something?

Mahalo,
vbfan4life

32 vbfan4life August 27, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Never mind, was able to find it on VT

33 islandman August 27, 2014 at 9:31 pm

It can be found in the ” Print Replica” , right under the Aug 27 date at the top of the front online page. However, it takes a genius to figure out how to navigate the print replica.

http://staradvertiser.newspaperdirect.com/epaper/viewer.aspx

34 Cubicle1126 August 28, 2014 at 10:23 am

here’s the link to the position breakdown (i think this is it). it’s not a traditional article, per se. the text is incorporated into the graphic. online it’s a jpg.

http://media.staradvertiser.com/images/20140827_SPT_VBALL_TIMELINE_LG.jpg

35 Broseph August 28, 2014 at 10:54 am

Great Wahine preview Cindy. Pics by Jamm Aquino were spot on. Like the ones for Mendoza, Higgins, Nikki, Koelsch, and Passi best. Loved the analysis of each position and the Shoji piece. Thanks for your work.

Leave a Comment

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiwarriorworld@staradvertiser.com.